Welcome to panchamukha.org Home | History | Unique Features | Photo Album | Related Links | Newsletter | Sitemap
logo jai Hanuman

  Places of Worship around Tiruvallur

Sri Vaidhya Veeraraghava Swami Temple : This temple is located in the center of Tiruvallur.It is one of the 108 Vaishnava Divya Desams. The city itself derives this name from this temple. The Lord is known as VeeraRaghava Swami and the  Goddess is known as Kanakavalli Thayar.It is one of the seven shrines featuring Lord Vishnu in a reclining position. Tirumangaialwar, Tirumazhisaialwar have sung pasurams on this deity. It is believed that bathing in the temple tank, and worshipping Veera raghava perumal with offerings of salt and pepper here, is a cure to many physical ailments, and hence the deity is also known as Vaidya(doctor) Veera raghava Perumal.The temple is administered by the Ahobila Mutt.

Tiruthani Murugan Temple : Thiruthani is one of the six holy abodes of Lord Muruga or Skanda According to legends, Lord Subramanya married Valli in this place. This temple has been revered in Tiruppugazh.Its nearly 30 kms from Tiruvallur.

Tirunindravur : This again is one of the 108 Divya desams. The Lord is Known as Bhaktavatsala perumal and Thayar as Sudhaa Valli. Mangalasasanam has been done by TiruMangai Alwar.

Tiruvalangadu : This temple is located in the Tiruvallur - Arakonam route. Lord Shiva is worshipped as Aalankatteesar . This is one of the five sabhais (Dance Halls) of Lord Nataraja , Known as the Ratna Sabhai. This is the 15th of the 32 Thevara Stalams in the Tondai region of South India.